LTTE Groups Banned

The Sri Lankan Government has banned a number of pro-LTTE Tamil diaspora groups, including some organizations based in the UK.

Some of the groups were banned in 2014 but were de-listed by the Yahapalanaya pro-Western Federalists Government in 2015.

The Global Tamil Forum (GTF), British Tamil Forum (BTF), Canadian Tamil Congress (CTC), Australian Tamil Congress (ATC), National Council of Canadian Tamil, Tamil Youth Organisation and the World Tamil Coordinating Committee have been proscribed by the Ministry of Defence.

They have been banned under Regulation 4(7) of the United Nations Regulations No. 1 of 2012.

The gazette notice issued to ban the organizations has been signed by Defence Secretary Major General (Rtd.) Kamal Gunaratne.

The Government has also banned a number of individuals based in the UK, Germany, Italy, Malaysia and several other countries.

Among those banned are GTF spokesman Suren Surendiran, who had been engaged in talks with then Foreign Minister Mangala Samaraweera and the Pro-LTTE Tamil terrorists political party Tamil National Alliance after the Yahapalana Government lifted the ban on some of the diaspora groups.

The Yahapalana Government had de-listed most of these LTTE front groups based on an agreement made by Yahapalana government in Singapore for political gains over national security in Sri Lanka.

However, the current administration considers these groups as still being linked to terrorism and a threat to national security.

The latest ban had been enforced just before the UN Human Rights Council began to meet in Geneva.

The Gazette issued by the Sri Lankan government banning pro-LTTE front organisations is as attached below:

Click Here to View the Document

26 Viewers